Lunar New Year is the beginning of a year whose months are coordinated by the cycles of the moon. The whole year may account to a purely lunar calendar or a lunisolar calendar.

The Chinese zodiac is a classification scheme that assigns an animal and its reputed attributes to each year in a repeating 12-year cycle. The 12-year cycle is an approximation to the 11.85-year orbital period of Jupiter, the largest planet of the Solar System. It and its variations remain popular in many Asian countries including China, Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Mongolia, Cambodia, Laos, Nepal, Bhutan, and Thailand.

The Chinese zodiac is also called Shēngxiào (
生肖) in Mandarin. Identifying this scheme using the generic term "zodiac" reflects several superficial similarities to the Western zodiac: both have time cycles divided into 12 parts, each labels at least the majority of those parts with names of animals, and each is widely associated with a culture of ascribing a person's personality or events in his or her life to the supposed influence of the person's particular relationship to the cycle.

Nevertheless, there are major differences between the two: the animals of the Chinese zodiac are not associated with constellations spanned by the ecliptic plane. The Chinese 12-part cycle corresponds to years, rather than months. The Chinese zodiac is represented by 12 animals, whereas some of the signs in the Western zodiac are not animals, despite the implication of the etymology of the word zodiac.

The zodiac traditionally begins with the sign of the Rat. The following are the twelve zodiac signs (each with its associated Earthly Branch) in order and their characteristics. Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water as five nature elements.

Rat –
() (Yin, 1st Trine, Fixed Element Water)
Ox –
() (Yin, 2nd Trine, Fixed Element Earth)
Tiger –
() (Yang, 3rd Trine, Fixed Element Wood)
Rabbit –
() (Yin, 4th Trine, Fixed Element Wood)
Dragon –
() (Yang, 1st Trine, Fixed Element Earth)
Snake –
() (Yang, 2nd Trine, Fixed Element Fire)
Horse –
() (Yin, 3rd Trine, Fixed Element Fire)
Goat –
() (Yin, 4th Trine, Fixed Element Earth)
Monkey –
() (Yang, 1st Trine, Fixed Element Metal)
Rooster –
() (Yin, 2nd Trine, Fixed Element Metal)
Dog –
() (Yang, 3rd Trine, Fixed Element Earth)
Pig –
() (Yang, 4th Trine, Fixed Element Water)

You will find links to buy products from Amazon, Google and other partners. If you click on these links, you’ll find that the URL includes a small extra piece of text which identifies that the click came from my websites. This text is an affiliate code, and it means that I get a small percentage of the money you spend if you choose to buy that product, or, in some cases, other products from the site soon after. These affiliate links help pay the costs of producing my websites and ensure that the content is free to you.